A song for Thursday: Brahm’s Intermezzo op.118 no. 2

I heard this played last weekend at St. Mary’s Church in Perivale at the Ealing Music Festival. It is a truly beautiful piece of music that I had only heard once before, not played terribly well, so the piece didn’t really stick with me and I never gave it a second thought until I heard it recently. This time it was played with an amazing depth of expression and interpretation and it took on a whole new meaning for me. The ending of this piece is particularly beautiful and Roberto Plano’s version of it has some of the most melancholy melodic lines that I have ever heard:

This entry was posted in Piano lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

