Karen Tanaka – Wild Water Buffalo スイギュウ from ‘Children of Light’

Now that the Dulwich Piano Festival is over, lots of our students are itching to learn some new repertoire. This beautiful piece by Japanese composer, Karen Tanaka has proved very popular and several students are currently working on this. The notes of the piece are quite simple. The expression, phrasing and use of the pedal are what makes it a harder task. The piece is taken from Tanaka’s gorgeous collection of easy piano pieces, ‘Children of Light‘. This piece is around ABRSM Grade 4 in difficulty.

Some of you may remember that Karen Tanaka had a lovely piece on the Grade 3 ABRSM 2011-2012 syllabus called Northern Lights.

Karen Tanaka was born in Tokyo in 1961 and now resides in Paris. Her love of nature and concern for the environment has influenced many of her works such as easy piano collection, ‘Children of Light‘ which  was composed as a homage to endangered animals and to the planet Earth, also as a message to the children of the future, entrusting them with the protection of the natural environment.

This beautiful piece entitled SWAN is taken from Tanaka’s collection, ‘Zoo In The Sky’, a collection written especially for children with small hands!

About Lorraine

Music & Kimchi
This entry was posted in Easy pieces for beginner piano, Karen Tanaka, Piano lessons, Repertoire for students and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.